Today is July 21, 2019 -

Temple Beth Israel

A Boutique Conservative Congregation Where Everyone Counts!

481 Sawgrass Corporate Pkwy
Sunrise, Florida 33325
Phone: 954-851-9999


TBI Executive Board/Board of Directors



As co-presidents of Temple Beth Israel, we are happy to electronically welcome you to the warmest, friendliest shul in Broward County. TBI has served the needs of our members and the community for over 50 years, but we are still the religious organization where everyone knows your name.

On behalf of our spiritual leader, Rabbi Hector Epelbaum, our professional staff, and our Board of Directors, we welcome you to Temple Beth Israel, and look forward to meeting you here soon!

Daniel Herz & Shahrad Mabourakh, Co-Presidents




Dan Herz – Co-President


Dan was born and raised in Chicago. After obtaining a degree in finance from Indiana University, he was offered a position in banking and relocated to South Florida in 1983. After eight years in banking,  Dan opened his own real estate investment and private lending company, DFH Business Consultants, which he still operates today. Dan is married to his wife Barbara, and they have one son, Alexander. Dan became a member of TBI in 2009, has held various board positions and is most proud of his position as commissioner of TBI’s annual Fantasy Football League competition.


Dan can be reached by calling the synagogue office at 954-851-9999 or by e-mail at


Dr. Shahrad Mabourakh – Co-President


My wife Ruth and I arrived in South Florida in 1994. We joined Temple Beth Israel because we wanted to join a Conservative congregation and our good friends belonged here. Little did we know, what a warm and inviting, group of people would enter our lives. We have shared times of great joy when our three daughters and son were called to the Torah in this wonderful synagogue. We have felt the support of our TBI family when inevitably life brought sadness into our lives. The Morning Minyans have been particularly comforting for me.

As a physician, I have been privileged to witness my patients’ lives in moments of great fragility. At these times a sense of belonging, that comes from caring for and doing for others, seems to make all the difference. Belonging to TBI has given my family and me a chance to deepen our understanding of Judaism and achieve that critical sense of belonging.




Daniel Herz

Dr. Shahrad Mabourakh

Immed. Past Pres.
Steve Needleman

Exec. Vice President      

Mitch Tapper

VP Ritual
William Hahn
VP Ways & Means

VP House Management 
 Morris Levy

VP Membership
 Shelley Epstein

VP Programming

Aileen Kirzner

Rachel Baum

Recording Secretary
Diane Hirschberg


Mimi Rotlewicz


Martin Singer


Board Members

Dr. Jeffery Solomon

Stephanie Fogelman

Henry Hoffman

David Bennett

Estrella Kaufman

Nicolas Vidret

Lewis Cooper

Ivan Ruiz

Beth Horowitz

Michael Greene

Claudio Resnik

Alexander Baum

Dr. Allan Selbst

Zeev Fragachan

Honorary Board Members

  Jacob Brodzki*

  Louis Colker*

 George Berman*

 Irving Libowsky*

  Phil Seal

Past Presidents 

Steve Needleman

Stuart Delafuente

Ivor Bamberger

George Berman

William Brooks*

Elaine Cohn

Max Cohn

Charles Dickson*

Arthur Drujak

Stuart Epstein

Libo Fineberg, Esq.

Dr. Clark Galin

Dr. Sylvan Goldin

Diane Gordon

Leon Heller*
Sharon Horowitz

D. David Keller, Esq.

Al Lang

Martin Lipnack, Esq.

Ron Mishkin

Dr. Jack Morris

Dr. Robert Rogoff*

Ron Rubinoff

Jules Shapiro*

Rick Shapiro

Alvin Siegel*

Jeffrey Siniawsky, Esq.

Mark Weissman
Dr. Aaron Wolfson

Religious Studies

& Youth

Dalia Michaeli,
Educational Director

Arlene Needleman,

B’nai Mitzvah/Ritual

Committee Chairpersons

High Holy Day Honors
  Arlene & Steve Needleman




Shelly Epstein

Martin Singer

Office Staff

Jodi Levy,
Synagogue Administrator

Rose Turchin,
Administrative Assistant

Marty Berger,


President Emeritus

  Jules Shapiro*

Cantor Emeritus
  Maurice Neu*